New Thought Movement UK

"It is time for change and change begins with you"

Path Towards Mastery

Leave a comment

 

Path towards Mastery

Life of the masters

 

I grew up as a Christian, went to church twice on Sundays and once during the week. I sung in the choir, I taught Sunday school service and the works. But I always had the feeling that heaven was not my forte, I did not much like milk and honey, it was too sweet and I did not fancy walking on streets of Gold, I imagined that would not be comfortable on a sunny day and I loved the sun. I found it however very interesting to think of the mix of people who would be present in heaven. Everyone thought they were heaven bound and the other person was not, I simply assumed that everyone would be surprised in the afterlife.

 

When I became more aware I tried to refrain from using the word “God” because of how pervasive it had become, however habit kept bringing me back. When I referred to and thought of Jesus it was usually with an apology at how we had misunderstood and misinterpret his message.

 

So, I decided to have a look at the life of four great spiritual leaders or as they were called masters. Looking briefly at their lives and the part that meditation played in bringing them to full realisation. I also look to see who their claimed to be, in effect their I AM’s, the acts or miracles their performed while on earth and their belief about humanity or the people around them.

 

Join me on this exciting journey called Path Toward Mastery beginning with this simply look at the life of the masters where you will begin to remember and refresh your knowledge. You may even create a new thought. You will have the opportunity to have your questions answered and to air you views on the lives of these great masters.

 

You can like my page (new thought movement UK) on Facebook or simply join me on my Facebook facebook.com/joyce.lewis.182 as I stream live right here on 11th February at 3pm GMT.

path-towads-mastery

 

 Jesus

 

Jesus was born awake or enlightened. That means he was fully aware of his connection to divinity, God, he remembered who he was from the time his soul occupied his body. This is unlike what most of us do which is come into this world forgetting the essence of who and what we are. When Jesus was a boy he could exhibit great knowledge for his age. When Jesus became of age thirty-three, he went into the wilderness to meditate and to come into full remembrance of all that he knew, fully move into a state of being and to remember his soul’s purpose.  He spent forty days and forty nights in meditation. During that time, he had to bring his body under subjection and strengthen it to withstand severe conditions, he had to destroy his ego, and he had to decide fully that his path was not one of wealth accumulation but a spiritual path.

 

To achieve all his goal in the wilderness he did not resist, but simple and clearly turned away from the temptation to feed his body by turning stone into bread, He did so by saying to his cells that they can live on the universal energy and not only the energy that was contained in bread and water. By that act his flesh was put under subjection. He was conscious that he could produce tremendous wealth if he desired but in the wilderness, he made a conscious decision that his life would be more than the accumulation of wealth but the fulfilment of purpose. He refused to give up his power in favour of easy wealth. He destroyed the ego by refusing to perform miracles as a form of show even though he knew he could perform them. When Jesus came out of the wilderness his purpose was crystallised. 

 

His purpose was to show humanity, the world, the works which could be performed by man using the universal power which flowed within every one of us.

 

The works he chose to demonstrate this included healing the sick, raising the dead, turning water into wine, walking on water and his main show stopper leaving his body in full view of the public and returning to his body three days later.

 

Most of Jesus’s teaching were aimed at telling both his disciples and the world that all that he could do, they could do also. However, most could not get it, did not understand, or did not believe him. They did so mainly because Jesus himself thought that they could not and went so far as to state that many times. Stating that even though people heard they would not understand, even though they saw, they could not believe.  

 

He also demonstrated his believe in the ignorance or lack of understanding of the masses by using mainly parables in his teaching. A parable is a fictitious story or analogy used to illustrate a moral attitude or religious principle.

 

When Jesus thought became reality, that is when he was neither believed nor understood, he then put himself forward in his I AM’s indicating that if the people could not believe in themselves, if they could not find in themselves the universal power, he was willing to act as go between. He therefore put this across as, I am the way, I am the bread of life, I am door of the sheep, I am the good Sheppard, I am the son of God, I am the vine, I am in the father.

 

Jesus’s life purpose was to demonstrate the heights that can be achieved by man using the universal power of the creator present in all of us and his thought that man could not comprehend what he was saying him were both achieved.    

 

Gautama Buddha

 

Buddha was born approximately 567 years before Christ and as many masters do he was born fully awake, enlightened and with self-knowledge, but quickly moved into forgetfulness as most of us.   It was said that when the Buddha was born he took two steps to the north and proclaimed, this was his last birth and that there would be no more births for him. As Buddha moved into maturity he soon got the feeling that something was not right, that he had forgotten himself and had fallen asleep. He began to try to awaken himself.  He tried self-denial, denying himself of food almost to the point of starvation, denying himself clothing such that he walked around naked and denied himself shelter by leaving his home and remaining out in the open. He gave up on these methods when they yielded little success in his path to enlightenment. He then sort to learn different types of mediation form holy men. This also did not hasten his enlightenment. Finally, he decided to seek within, to undertake the journey to the self. He dared the universal power to deny him as he meditated under a tree called the Peepal tree for forty days and forty nights. At the end of his Journey he took on the persona of the awaken one because he believed that he had finally achieved his goal of awakening. He then decided that his soul’s purpose was to aid others on this similar path to awakening.

 

All Buddha teaching concentrated on teach people how to live a life that would hasten their enlightenment. He never proclaimed divinity, and believe that all of humanity could with self-discipline and meditation become enlightened just as he was. He abhorred the performance of miracles and rarely perfumed them. It was said that most of the Buddha’s miracles were performed in a metaphysical realm although he is known to have done a few earthly miracles such as stilling a raging elephant with his little finger, parting the flood waters so he could walk on dry land and clearing up a dirty well to produce clean drinking water.

 

Buddha soul purpose was achieved and lives on through the Buddhist traditions of meditation, mastery of self and undertaking the journey towards enlightenment.

 

Mohammed

 

Mohammad Abin Abdullah was born in Mecca Saudi Arabia approximately 610 year after the death of Christ. He lived briefly with his mother until she passed away when he was six years. He was then raised by his uncle and grandfather in Mecca near the Kaaba which contained 365 statues of the many deities worshiped by the people of Mecca. He lived a relatively normal uneventful life though a few people prophesied of future greatness for him. He became a caravan Trader and was known for his fairness and honesty. At age twenty-five he married a wealthy forty-year-old business woman name Khadijah. In his adulthood, Mohammed adopted the practice of retreating to a cave for several days during the ninth month of the year for solitude and prayer and refreshing. When Mohammed was forty years old, he went on one of his retreats prayer and solitude and refreshing. During that time, he heard a voice which proclaimed to be the Angel Gabriel. Mohammed was frightened and run out of the cave thinking he was delusional. His wife convinced him he was not and so he continued to return to the cave to receive messages from the voice of Angel Gabriel. At some point the messages stopped leaving Mohamed feeling that he may have offended heaven and the Angel. However, he received a final message that he would receive something even better than what he had before and that he had to preach the messages he had received. He was sceptical as he was unsure that he fully understood the message or that he was worthy to be listened to.

 

Mohammed recalled the messages he had received from memory, and as he was not able to read or write recited them and had them written down by a scribe. He then began to speak his message out to the people. To get more people to listen to his words he began to chant his message as poetry marking the beginning of the Quran and the way it is recited. Muhammed main purpose, which reverberated throughout his teaching was that there was only one God whose name was Allah and that all people should worship that one God whose name was Allah. Mohammed began to gather followers in Mecca but face the opposition of the established rulers who sort to take his life. He Fled with his family and followers to a nearby city call Yathrib and later changed to Medina. This flight was called the hegira and marks as the start of the Muslim calendar whereupon a new verse was added to the Quran. “Those who believe and made the hegira, those who gave their homes and helped, these are the protector of one another”. 

 

This marked a turning point in Muhammed’s life as was then appointed to lead the city of Medina. His focus and teachings concentrated on reassuring his followers that they were the chosen ones and that they would be rewarded either on earth or in the afterlife for following him and adopting the new faith. All those who did adopt the belief that there was only one God and that his name was Allah would be punished either on earth or in the afterlife. Mohamed became a great war strategist and spent most of this life as a prophet in battle against those who did not follow him. He won many battles which were justifies by adding new chapters to the Quran in which Allah was said to have given permission fight because the unbelievers were wrong and therefore that justified armed conflict. Although many of the teachings in the Quran closely resembled that of the bible then referred to as the Torah and Muhammed himself sited Moses, Jesus and Abraham as predecessors, his purpose of making Allah the one God meant that he had to move away from Judaism and Christianity. He accomplished this by having his followers in Medina turn towards Mecca instead of towards Jerusalem for prayer.  Muhammed final and most profound act was the battle of Quraysh during which Muhammed returned to his home town of Mecca and the leaders of Mecca rather than fighting proclaimed that he Mohammed was speaking the truth. Muhammed then proceeded to destroy the 365 Statues of deity in the Kaaba in Mecca. Even after this significant victory Muhammed still had to use armed conflict in other to continue his purpose of ensuring that Allah was the one true God.   

 

Muhammed never claimed any divinity but lived his life as a man taking eleven wives’ after his first wife died. He then reduced the number to four and had many children. Muhammed said that he was a prophet and a disciple of God. There was very little reported of any miracles performed by Mohammed save the feats performed during war.

 

After his death, he became well known as the prophet and the Muslim religion began to spread around Asia and Africa. Many Muslims continue to work toward the fulfilment of Muhammad’s purpose of spreading the message that Allah is the one true God.

 

 Hare Krishna

 

Krishna was born about 3228 years before Christ. He was the Reincarnation of the supreme being Vishnu who was the second of the three main Hindu deities. Krishna’s soul’s purpose or Vishnu’s main reason for taking up a body as Krishna was to fulfil the promise to kill Krishna’s uncle kamsa. This was foretold at Krishna’ mothers wedding that the eighth son of Krishna’s mother would kill karmsa. In other to prevent the act from happening, Karmsa put his sister and her husband and his father the king, in prison and made a point to kill six of his sister’s sons as the prediction was that the eighth son would be the one to kill him. When Krishna was born however he was exchanged for another baby and was not killed. Krishna then went to live with foster parents Nanda and Yasoda in Gokula. Krishna lived his entire live in the state of enlightenment. He was born as an Avatar, one who is fully conscious of his divinity. He did not meditate of had need to seek God but lived as the embodiment of God. He performed many miracles which were reported more as fables and everyday occurrences in Krishna life. These included turning a basket of fruit offered to him by a vendor into a basket of precious jewels for her, taming a serpent and defeating many daemons. Krishan was not averse to taking life as was apparent in his conversation with Arjuna in the Bhargava Gita. This was because he knew and stated that death was simple a transition and that everyone reincarnated. After fulfilling his purpose of killing karmsa he aided many people into the afterlife in order to hasten them being reborn into better karma and closer to enlightenment having learned from the past life.

 

Krishan could take up any form at will and show himself in his Godly state to onlookers.  Krishna never sort to preach, teach or spread any message but spent most of his time in the enjoyment of life. He was a playful fun loving God. He enjoyed dancing, singing, and playing musical instrument and was often depicted doing such. He had eight principle wives and many children by them and believed marriage to be a union of the souls. He also married Sixteen thousand one hundred maidens who had been abducted. This restored their names and enabled them to live respectable lives. After the battle between the pandavas and the Kauravas in which Krishna assisted both sides a curse was put on Krishna’s clan by the father of the losing side, Gandhari who had lost 100 sons in the battle. Krishna realising that his clan had become haughty and arrogant he agreed to the curse by simply saying “so be it.” The curse stated that within thirty-six years Krishna’ entire linage would die out. As it was said so it was done, within thirty-six years all of the members of Krishna lineage either died in battle, killed each other or left their bodies through yoga. Krishna himself died after he was shot in the foot but a hunter with an arrow but was quick to reassure the hunter that he himself is the creator and decider of all events and that this was meant to happen. Krisha always took full responsibility for all acts which took place in the world.

 

Krishna and in effect Vishnu’s purpose was achieved. He founded no religion but his way of life and believe have been adapted into the Hindu faith. It has a huge concentration on reciting mantras and practicing yoga to remind the mind of body of its oneness with the divinity of the soul.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: New Thought Movement UK

I am Joyce. I was born in the Caribbean Island of Dominica with its unique three hundred and sixty five rivers and grew up in St. Lucia, listed by Oprah Winfrey as a must visit before you die. I moved to Northern Ireland in 2010. By 2013 my life was a disaster on all levels, financially, emotionally and career wise. I found myself working in a factory making peanuts and constantly feeling like I had let myself down, like I could do better, but I was not. My marriage was in shambles, the honey moon was long over. My husband had found his long desired parent hood outside of the marriage. We were six feet in debt. The gambling and alcoholic hobbies were now serious business. I was a mess. So I decided to fix my husband. I did not speak to him for twenty-one days. At the end of twenty-one days I realise that you cannot fix people, and, the only person that really needed to be fixed was me. I apologised to my husband, but during that period, I was fixed. I had found the internet, YouTube, Oprah Winfrey’s Super Soul Sunday, Soul to soul and Iyana Vanzant’s fix my life. I had cried more than I had never cried before. I had found myself. And my life began to change. On Saturday the 8th or March 2014, after taking my daughter to a school activity, I suddenly had the feeling that “this is it”. I was done raising my daughter. She was on her way and nothing would prevent her from achieving her goals. All I had to do now was taxi her too and throw, provide her spending money and enjoy the ride. This simple thought changed my life. Before that day, I never had money to give my daughter, even when I got paid I either had no change or something would come up. From that day I always had money to give her. When I got home that day, it was as if my book of life had opened up. And I was not being judged, but I was being given an opportunity to review my life. Though we are always thinking, every second of every minute of every day, only a handful of our thought determines the course of our lives. And I saw every thought that had brought me to exactly where I was in life. I saw the thoughts that had brought me failure and success in life. I saw that my first attempt at a juice business had failed because I thought I needed my friends to support my ideas and dreams. I saw that my real estate business had failed because I had listened to a stranger’s definition of me and had given in to my need for security over passion. I saw that my restaurant had failed because I did not want to be “told” what to do and thought taking advice was me losing control and independence. And I saw the exact day and time where this intense need to be independent and self sufficient was created. It was the day I visited my dad for the first time after fifteen years and he insisted on giving me money to pay for glass of breadfruit or plantain punch a young man had made for me. I had decided then and there that I would never depend on a man and I would always be able to take care of myself. That thought had from then plagued every relationship I had had with the opposite sex leading to the eventual destruction of my marriage. I saw the deep seated thought of me blaming my mother for years of neglect, for my lack of success had been wasted energy and I saw that she was not to blame and that there was a reason and a purpose behind my solitary upbringing. I saw the exact day when I was eight years old and I created the thought “I do not have a toothache” in the midst of severe pain resulted in me not having a toothache since then, even thought I was the prime candidate for it. I saw the thought of me wishing for my husband to have the baby he so longed for resulting in exactly that. I saw everything. I saw my life. And I saw that there was no God punishing me or rewarding me, but I was creating it all. Through my thoughts I was choosing the life and times I was experiencing and I saw that everyone else was doing the exact same thing. We were all unconsciously having thoughts that were creating the lives that we were experiencing. So I decided to change my thoughts, and my life changed. On that day the book would not close, the record would not stop playing. I felt an intense truth; I could be a writer, a poet, or anything I could imagine. Thought “I need paper”, but it was Saturday and I had to clean the house. As soon as I had that thought the book closed, the record stopped playing. I felt bereaved, empty as if a great gift had been taken away. I woke up the next morning and for the first time in my life I could not see past my window. The fog was as dense as a blanket. Then it started again. The record started to play, the book opened up and this time I decided I would write. I used my phone and sent messages to every woman in my WhatsApp contact list. Every time an inspiration began to play in my head, a scenario, a memory that could heal some one or heal me, I sent it out. Once I sent it out, it stopped. And so after three months I realise I had written and published my first book I called Phenomenal Women. I had become phenomenal. I had become a writer. And I recognised that all women are created phenomenal. Our thoughts not only create our lives, it creates the world around us. It influenced the people we attract to us, our parents, our partners, our children, our friends, our foes. Everyone we brought into our lives came in answer to our deepest thoughts about our selves. I release that my husband came into my life because of my deep thoughts of taking care of myself. I realised that a staunch rival had come into my life because of my deep seated thought that people were talking about me and she fulfilled that thought to perfection. I realised that my thoughts of fear had created diseases and that by changing my thoughts I was able to heal myself. I found out how deeply connected we were to the whole universe. How through meditation we could completely clear up the sky and create intricate cloud patterns. I realise how connected we were to plants, water, and every living thing on the planet. I realise that thoughts traversed the universe at the speed of light and can create amazing co incidences and synchronicity. I realise that nothing was independent of itself, but all was connected and one thing influenced the other and all things could be changed through changing of thought. I realise that this knowledge could change the lives of millions and change the world we are experiencing into the world we all dream off. A world that was free of diseases, where people realised that all illnesses were self created and could be healed simple by changing the mind; a world where we could completely eliminate hunger and poverty through compassion, sharing, and taking responsibility for each other; a world where war was a thing of the past, because we all recognised that peace was an internal thing, and true power was not power over other put power from within and that what we did to another we did to the self because we are all one. A world where words such as racism, sectarianism, islamophobia, homophobia, were all thing of the past, because we recognised that the right to be, was a birth right, ingrained in the human psyche. A world in which we knew with gut level certainty that God was personal thing, an internal thing, unique to each and every human being, and it was that thing that connected us to each other and to every thing in the whole universe; a world in which we knew that we were eternal. It was not an illusion, not an imagination, but a real possibility. It became my life purpose, my reason for existing. It became a movement. A new Thought Movement; a movement towards a world of joy, peace, and love; a movement towards a world where we take full responsibility for our lives and we use the power of our minds to change our world for the better; a movement towards change. Because: “It is time for change, and change begins with you!” https://www.amazon.co.uk/NEW-THOUGHT-MOVEMENT-UK-MANIFESTO-ebook/dp/B01D8XZUPA

Leave a Reply

